Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

MISI, or the Multi-Institutional Survey Initiative, is a new endeavor between Sakai institutions to ask similar questions of instructors and students across Sakai implementations. Through this initiative, we hope to be able to compare and contrast similarities and differences between institutions as well as provide feedback to improve Sakai development in the future.

In order to accurately compare institutions, it is important to use the same survey questions as much as possible. To that end, the participating institutions have been working hard to arrive at a set of shared "core" survey items that will be used across institutions. These survey items were initially based on the annual Michigan surveys for their Sakai implementation, CTools.

Participation is voluntary. Each institution is responsible for obtaining human subjects approval (IRB) to conduct research, if required. Furthermore, institutions are encouraged, but not required or mandated to use the "core" set of survey questions or share them with the initiative. Michigan has offered to analyze the combined 2009 quantitative dataset. To limit variability, participating institutions are encouraged to administer their surveys online between April-May 2009.

Instructor core survey items

Student core survey items

10th Sakai Conference Presentation


Below are institutions (and contacts) who have indicated interest:

Institution

Contact Name(s)

Contact Email(s)

Akamai University

Douglass Capogrossi

dcapogrossi@akamaiuniversity.us

Bradley University

Barb Kerns

brk@bumail.bradley.edu

Charles Sturt University (Australia)

Derek Sequeira

DSequeira@csu.edu.au

Columbia University

Maneesha Aggarwal

Maneesha@columbia.edu

Georgia Institute of Technology

Stephen Rehberg

stephen.rehberg@cetl.gatech.edu

Harvey Mudd College

Joseph Vaughn

vaughan@hmc.edu

Marist College

Josh Baron
James Regan

Josh.Baron@marist.edu
James.Regan@marist.edu

Mount Holyoke College

Mary Glackin

mglackin@mtholyoke.edu

Rice University

Angela Rabuck

adehart@rice.edu

Rutgers University

Gayle Stein

gstein@rutgers.edu

Stanford University

Keli Amann
Christine Doherty

kamann@stanford.edu
cdoherty@stanford.edu

Texas State University San Marcos

Salwa Khan
Michael Farris

sk16@txstate.edu
mwfarris@txstate.edu

Universidad Politécnica de Valencia
(Spain)

David Roldán Martínez

darolmar@upvnet.upv.es 

Universidade Fernando Pessoa (Portugal)

Feliz Gouveia

fribeiro@ufp.edu.pt

University of California, Berkeley

Lisa Rothrauff

lisa@media.berkeley.edu

University of Delaware

Mathieu Plourde
Dick Sacher

mathieu@udel.edu
dsacher@udel.edu

University of Limerick (Ireland)

Angelica Risquez

angelica.risquez@ul.ie

University of Michigan
(Ann Arbor & Dearborn campuses)

Steve Lonn

slonn@umich.edu

University of Missouri at Columbia

Dana Vessell

danna@missouri.edu

University of Windsor (Canada)

Anna Galka

agalka@uwindsor.ca

University of Wyoming

Robin Hill

hill@uwyo.edu

University of Virginia

Yitna Firdyiwek
Stephanie Conley

ybf2u@eservices.virginia.edu
sbs8j@virginia.edu

1 Comment

  1. Will this initiative be repeated this year? If so, Delaware would be interested in participating.