Versions Compared

Key

  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.
Comment: Migrated to Confluence 5.3

2010 Sakai Multi-Institutional Survey Initiative

Info
titleView Selected Results from the 2010 Survey

Click here to see the selected results page

Survey instruments for the "core" survey items are available here:
Instructor "Core" Survey Items
Student "Core" Survey Items

MISI, or the Multi-Institutional Survey Initiative, is an endeavor among Sakai institutions to ask similar questions of instructors and students across Sakai implementations. Through this initiative, we hope to be build on the successful 2009 effort to compare and contrast similarities and differences between institutions as well as provide feedback to improve Sakai development in the future.

In order to accurately compare institutions, it is important to use the same survey question as much as possible. To that end, the participating institutions have been working hard to arrive at a set of shared "core" survey items that will be used across institutions. The 2010 effort will build upon the survey items for the 2009 survey (see the instructor and student survey items).

Participation is voluntary. Each institution is responsible for obtaining human subjects approval (IRB) to conduct research, if required. Furthermore, institutions are encouraged, but not required or mandated to use the "core" set of survey questions or share them with the initiative. Michigan has offered to analyze the combined 2010 quantitative dataset. To limit variability, participating institutions are encouraged to administer their surveys online between April-June 2010.

(As an example, here is a copy of the Texas State IRB Request for Exemption from last year.)

If you are interested in participating, please add your information to the table below. Our first meeting will take place online in January 2010:

Institution

Contact Name(s)

Contact Email(s)

Notes

University of Michigan

Steve Lonn

slonn@umich.edu

 

Rice University

Angela Rabuck

adehart@rice.edu

 

University of Delaware

Mathieu Plourde
Dick Sacher

mathieu@udel.edu
dsacher@udel.edu

 

Indiana University

Rita Pavolka

pavolka@indiana.edu

 

Université Pierre et Marie Curie

Jean-François Lévêque

jean-francois.leveque@upmc.fr

Survey will be done in French (Survey translation QA volunteer, Mathieu Plourde)

Université du Littoral Côte d'Opale

Frédéric Dooremont

frederic.dooremont@univ-littoral.fr

 

Texas State

Salwa Khan

sk16@txstate.edu

 

Marist College

Brian Dashew

brian.dashew@marist.edu

 

Rutgers University

Gayle Stein

gstein@rutgers.edu

 

Virginia Tech

John Moore

jmoore1@vt.edu

 

University of Virginia

Stephanie Conley & Yitna Firdyiwek

sbs8j@virginia.edu & ybf2u@virginia.edu

 

Lourdes College

Susan Shelangoskie

sshelangoskie@lourdes.edu

 

University of Hawai'i

Kenwrick Chan

kchan@hawaii.edu

 

UNC - Chapel Hill

Kim Eke

kim_eke@unc.edu

 

Calvary Baptist Theological Seminary

Paul Gibbs

pgibbsjr@hotmail.com

 

Nagoya University (Japan)

Shoji Kajita

kajita@nagoya-u.jp

 

Daybreak School

Brian McCarthy

brian@daybreak.ie

 

Universidad Politécnica de Valencia

Aristóteles Cañero

acanero@asic.upv.es

Survey will be done in Spanish. UPV will do the translation

Washington and Lee University

John Blackburn

BlackBlackburnJ@wlu.edu

 

Johns Hopkins University

Brenda Knox , Rob Coyle & Charmaine Thompson

knox@jhu.edu, rcoyle@jhu.edu, charmaine@jhu.edu

 

University of Applied Sciences of Bragança (Portugal)

Paulo Alves

palves@ipb.pt

Survey will be done in Portuguese. Will work with UFP on translation.

Danubius University of Galati (Romania)

Severin Bumbaru

severin.bumbaru@univ-danubius.ro

Survey will be done in Romanian. Danubius University will do the translation

Universidad de Guadalajara

Rafael Morales

rmorales@udgvirtual.udg.mx

 

New York University (NYU)

Heather Stewart

heather@nyu.edu

 

Universidade Fernando Pessoa

Feliz Gouveia & Luis Borges Gouveia

fribeiro@ufp.edu.pt & lmbg@ufp.edu.pt

Survey will be done in Portuguese. Will work with IPB on translation.

CEIPA, Institución Universitaria (Columbia)

Diego Mauricio Mazo Cuervo

diego.mazo@ceipa.edu.co

 

College of the Redwoods

Maggie Lynch

maggie-lynch@redwoods.edu

 

University of California, Berkeley

Lisa Rothrauff

lisa@media.berkeley.edu

 

Sakai Foundation

Pieter Hartsook

hartsook@sakaifoundation.org

observing to keep up-to-date with MISI (will attend Wed)

Management Center Innsbruck

Wolfgang Rohregger, Teresa Zangerl

wolfgang.rohregger@mci.edu & teresa.zangerl@mci.edu


University of Dayton

Jerry Timbrook

timbroje@notes.udayton.edu

 

Iframe
srchttp://maps.google.com/maps/ms?ie=UTF8&hl=en&t=h&msa=0&msid=113819370519950013918.00047dfe6fc6502f5012a&ll=21.616579,-55.195312&spn=128.103204,351.210938&z=2&output=embed
width1000
height500

Your browser does not support iframes

View 2010 MISI Participating Institutions in a larger map.

MISI FAQ

Q: Who Can Participate in MISI?
A: Any institution running Sakai 2.4 or higher in pilot or production. All levels, languages, and locations are invited to participate.

Q: Who Conducts the Survey?
A: Your institution will run its own online survey. In the past, institutions have used commercial applications (e.g., SurveyMonkey), home-grown systems, and self-coded surveys.

Q: Who Decides What Items Are On the Survey?
A: The collective group of participating institutions will decide on the items via email, conference calls, and Confluence wiki. Ultimately, each institution can decide to opt in/out of each "core" survey item, but are strongly encouraged to participate in order to maximize data collection.

Q: When Will Meetings Begin?
A: In mid-January 2010

Q: How is Survey Data Shared?
A: Anonymized data (not aggregated) is uploaded to a shared Sakai site. Michigan has volunteered to combine the data into one big spreadsheet and run an initial summary. Each participating institution may use the combined dataset to run their own analyses.

Q: When Should the Survey Be Administered?
A: In order to minimize variability, each participating institution is asked to administer their survey for 2-4 weeks in March, April, or May 2010.

Q: Where Can I Find Information About the 2009 MISI?
A: On this Confluence page