Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Teaching With Sakai Innovation Award 2010 Planning

NOTE: This page is a working space for the award committee, not the actual application site.
VISIT to apply for the award beginning December 2010.

The Goals

  1. Recognize and promote best faculty practices and innovation in using Sakai for teaching and learning.
  2. Establish a faculty presence in the Sakai community and in particular at the international Sakai conference.
  3. Bring faculty in contact with Sakai developers and designers. 

TWSIA 2010 Planning Timeline


tentative date(s)

confirmed date(s)

Official announcement of award
Entry information available online

Educause, Denver CO
Novemebr 4-8, 2009

Nov. 5, 2009

First Comm. Mtng.


Wed. Dec 16

Online entry becomes available

Monday, Nov. 30, 2009

Wed. Dec 31

Comm. mtng.


Wed. Jan 13

Comm. mtng.


Wed. Jan 27

Comm. mtng.


Wed. Feb 10

Comm. mtng. orientation to opened practices site


Wed. Feb 24

Comm. preview of application begins


week of Mar 8th

Comm. mtng. orientation to voting process


Wed. Mar 10

Application process closes

Sunday, Feb 28, 2010

Mon. Mar 15

Comm. review of entries and voting

Tuesday Mar. 1, 2010

Mar 15 - Apr 2

Comm. Mtng.


Wed. Mar 24

Committee review deadline

week of Mar. 28, 2010

Fri. April 2

Comm. mtng. Conference call to select finalists

Wed. April 7

Finalists' interviews arranged

week of Apr. 12


Technology orientation for judges & finalists

week of Apr. 12


Web conferences with judges & finalists

weeks of Apr. 19 - 26


Comm. mtng. Review award winners

Wed. May 5th

Wed. May 12th

Winner Announced

Mon. May 10  

week of May 12th

Sakai Conference


June 15-17, 2010










Back to Top


2010 Committee

Subject: Call for award committee members

The Sakai Teaching and Learning Group is forming the 2010 Award Committee to oversee this year's Teaching with Sakai Innovation Award. Each of the past two years we've had a strong applicant pool and selected two outstanding finalists. If you missed the winners' 2009 presentations in Boston, you can watch Andrea Crampton at and Edith Sheffer at
If you would like to view last year's entries they are available on the web site The evaluation rubric used for the award is located at

We hope to continue the success of 2008 and 2009 and are looking for committee members that represent many different groups within our community, so please don't hesitate to sign up even if you don't have a teaching and learning background. Please contact Kate Ellis or Susan Roig if you are interested in working with us.
Thank you for your support,

Sue Roig

Kate Ellis

TWSIA 2010 Committee Co-Chair
Claremont Graduate University
Director Academic Technology
150 E. Tenth Street, Claremont, CA 91711

TWSIA 2010 Committee Co-Chair
Indiana University
Teaching and Learning Technologies Center
1320 E. Tenth St, Bloomington, IN 47405

NOTE:  The TWSIA Committee will meet twice monthly - time and day will be determined by group. 






Susan Roig

Claremont Graduate University

Director Academic Technology

Co-Chair of the TWSIA '10
final judging coordinator

Kate Ellis

Indiana University Bloomington

Learning Technologies Consultant

Co-Chair of the TWSIA '10
preliminary review coordinator

Josh Baron

Marist College

Director, Academic Technology and eLearning

Sakai Board Liaison

Janet de Vry

University of Delaware

Manager, IT-User Services

2008 Chair

Rob Coyle

Johns Hopkins University

Instructional Designer

anything I can do.

Amber Evans

Virginia Tech

Online Course Systems Training and Documentation Coordinator

Anything I can assist with.

John Moore

Virginia Tech

Senior Director, Strategy and Planning
Learning Technologies


Salwa Khan

Texas State

Coordinator, IT Projects
Instructional Technologies Support

Review entries, whatever else

Alfred Henrico

Northwest University - South Africa

Academic Support Services


Teggin Summers

Virginia Tech

Assistant Director, ePortfolio Initiatives

any way in which I can assist

Cherry Stewart

University of New England

09 Finalist - Research Fellow - DEHub: Innovation in Distance Education

Preliminary Judge

Andrea Crampton Ph.D.

Charles Sturt University

09 Winner - Presiding Officer University Biosafety Committee

Preliminary Judge

Aileen Huang-Saad

University of Michigan

08 Winner

Preliminary Judge

Dr. Fred T. Hofstetter


University of Delaware

08 Finalist - Professor of Education

Preliminary Judge

Mary McMahon

Pomona College

Director of Instructional Services


Add your name here





Back to Top

Related Pages

(use label "twsia10" to be listed here)

Back to Top


Back to Top

  • No labels